Centro de Artes Visuales Fundación Helga de Alvear

from June 20th to October 22nd 2006

Helga de Alvear. Conceitos para uma colecção

  • Lugar:

    Centro Cultural de Belém, Lisboa

José Predro Croft. Sin título, 2002

Anish Kapoor. Sin título, 1999

Andreas Gursky. Hong Kong Islands, 1994

Augusto Alves da Silva. 3.16 (# 11), 2003

Angela Bulloch. The Disenchanted Forest X 1001, 2005

The Cultural Centre in Belem organized a new show based on the same conceptual base as the exhibition presented at the MEIAC in Badajoz the previous year, namely to display the eclectic range of art produced over the last three decades with a selection from the Helga de Alvear Collection and at the same time to reflect its quality and inner unity.
The 100 works of art in the show were installed across 13 rooms and arranged into various key cores such as the legacy of minimalism and conceptual art, the confirmation of photography in 1989-90, the return of painting and the debate about the end of painting. In among the 58 artists represented were some who had not been included in the previous exhibition: Allan Sekula, Andreas Gursky, Angela Bulloch, Axel Hütte, Franz West, Gregor Schneider, Joseph Kosuth, Olafur Eliasson and Stan Douglas, to mention a few. Alongside them, Helena Almeida, Augusto Alves da Silva, José Pedro Croft, Rui Chafes, Julião Sarmento and Joana Vasconcelos joined João Penalva to bolster the artistic delegation from Portugal.


Marina Abramovic | Helena Almeida | Augusto Alves da Silva | John Baldessari | Bernd & Hilla Becher | Joseph Beuys | Richard Billingham | Angela Bulloch | James Casebere | Rui Chafes | Hannah Collins | Matt Collishaw | José Pedro Croft | Hanne Darboven | Philip-Lorca diCorcia | Stan Douglas | Olafur Eliasson | Elmgreen & Dragset | Dan Flavin | Pia Fries | Bernard Frize | Andreas Gursky | Dan Graham | Rodney Graham | Katharina Grosse | Alex Hartley | Mona Hatoum | Thomas Hirschhorn | Candida Höfer | Rebecca Horn | Roni Horn | Axel Hütte | Pierre Huyghe | Callum Innes | Alfredo Jaar | Donald Judd | Isaac Julien | Anish Kapoor | Jürgen Klauke | Imi Knoebel | Joseph Kosuth | Michael Majerus | Juan Muñoz | Ernesto Neto | Hélio Oiticica & Neville d’Almeida | Gabriel Orozco | João Penalva | Thomas Ruff | Julião Sarmento | Gregor Schneider | Allan Sekula | Thomas Struth | Frank Thiel | Rosemarie Trockel | Luc Tuymans | Joana Vasconcelos | Jeff Wall | Franz West